BUL FC have been crowned the FUFA Super Eight Champions. They defeated  URA FC in the final on Sunday at MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

They won the game in shootouts (3-1) after ending the normal time in a goalless draw.

BUL joins Vipers SC and KCCA FC, as the only two teams that have previously won the championship in 2019 and 2018 respectively.

Meanwhile, KCCA FC defeated SC Villa in the playoff game to take the third position and secure themselves at least 10 million Shillings.

Midfielder Usama Arafat scored two goals while his colleague Ashraf Mugume added one to help the Lugogo-based team sail past the Jogoos. SC Villa’s goals were scored by David Owori and Charles Lwanga respectively.

Speaking to journalists KCCA FC Head Coach Sergio Daniel said while he is happy that they have defeated their rival SC Villa, he only takes such a game as mere preparation for their next engagements both in the league and in continental football.

“The boys are giving good answers, but the most important thing is that such games help in getting the team ready for the league, and Confederations against villa, yes it is our rival but the most important is getting the team ready for the upcoming events.” He said.

“We would like to win every single competition we are in, but URA got the victory in the last minute during the semi-final, As I said, being important for the upcoming event is more important than the preseason games.” He added.

Somdev Sen, the MTN Chief Marketing Officer said such tournaments give players the best platform to display their abilities before entering the competitive league, before adding that he hopes their sponsorship packages continue boosting the tournament.

//Cue in; “I significantly believe …

Cue out: … the beautiful game”//

After a nearly four-year hiatus courtesy of COVID-19, the FUFA Super 8 Tournament, which serves as a warm-up for StarTimes Uganda Premier League teams before the new season, was reintroduced in July 2023.

The top eight teams from last season’s StarTimes Uganda Premier League competed in two separate groups, with URA and BUL FC going through to reach the final.

The winners of the competition will receive 20 million Shillings with the runners up walking away with 12 million Shillings while the third placed team will take home 10 million Shillings.