BUL FC starting line up against KCCA

BUL FC’s opening game of the second round against KCCA ended 0-0 with both sides somehow failing to find the back of the net on Friday.

This meant BUL stretched their lead at the summit to 34 points from 16 rounds of play.

The Eastern Giants may however feel undone by three injuries that savaged the team as early as the 10th minute.

Martin Aprem was the first casualty as he was forced off ten minutes in, paving way for Amos Kirya to make his debut .

As if that was not enough, Douglas Muganga also got injured and unable to continue with play ten minutes to the break. Coach Abbey Kikomeko turned to his bench and picked Ibrahim Mugulusi to take charge of the midfield affairs at Lugogo.

Then the team would be hit more as Jerome Kirya also felt unwell and was withdrawn before the restart, with Ibrahim Kazindula taking up his place in the middle of the park.

Left back Nicholas Mwere in action

Both sides occasionally threatened and enjoyed brief spells of dominance but neither could find an all important break through.

Against the run of play, KCCA got the first offensive moment with Muhammad Shaban heading wide nonetheless before Tom Ikara saved Emmanuel Loki’s effort midway the first half.

The second half also failed to ignite and became a bit scrappy. Lawrence Tezikya latched on a rebound in the box following a well swung in corner by Ibrahim Mugulusi however his shot was miles away from the goal posts.

In the closing moments, the hosts crafted an opportunity when Joao Gabriel made a darting run and passed into the area, Katenga was somehow late and the ball went out begging.

BUL will now return to FUFA technical for the match against Bright Stars on Wednesday next week.

Starting XI:

Tom Ikara (GK), Hillary Onek, Nicholas Mwere, Walter Ochora, Ronald Otti, Douglas Muganga (Ibrahim Mugulusi 35′), George Kasonko, Jerome Kirya (Ibrahim Kazindula 45′), Martin Aprem (Amos Kirya 10′), Lawrence Tezikya (Gerald Ogweti 80′), Alex Kitata.

Unused Substitutes:
Joel Mutakubwa, Benon Tahomera, Emmanuel Obua, Reagan Kalyowa, Joel Madondo.