It is the end of the road at the continent this season after our Confederations cup journey was cut short on Saturday night in Cairo.

Egyptians – Future FC won the game via Jonathan Ngwem’s 76th minute free kick to progress to the next round of the competition courtesy of a 1-0 aggregate, the first leg had ended in a scoreless draw in Wakiso.

BUL played 70 minutes with ten men when Walter Ochora was sent off for a second bookeable offense in the twenth minute, just ten after the first booking but hit the post in the final minutes of the game played at Cairo International Stadium.

BUL FC starting line up against Future fc

The first half was surely uneventful as both sides played not to concede before the Eastern Giants were reduced in numbers.

Mohamed Badry Ahmed headed wide for the hosts while Ngwem’s second delivery into the area lacked a sense of a target.

After the break, the game sparked into life with Future largely controlling the proceedings because of their numerical advantage but they were often frustrated by BUL’s resilient defending.

The hosts came close to unlocking the deadlock after the restart, however Samir Saad was denied by the cross bar.

Three minutes off the hour mark, Ahmed Atef squandered another opportunity of theirs when he went behind our backline but carved out his effort before Badry skewed from inside the box.

Future finally got off the mark in the 76th minute when Ngwem curled a free kick from 25 yards by his left boot beyond Saidi Keni in BUL’s goal to spark celebrations at the home side.

The Eastern Giants were just unlucky not to level the game in the dying minutes when Pascal Ngobi beat his marker inside the host’s box.

Hillary Onek’s piece of brilliancy sent the midfielder one on one with the opposite goalkeeper in the second minute of added time but his right footed shot clipped off the post to prematurely end our ambitions at the continent this campaign.

Starting XI:
Saidi Keni (GK), Douglas Muganga, Richard Ayiko, Walter Ochora, Pascal Ngobi, Ibrahim Mugulusi, Ibrahim Kazindula, Emmanuel Obua, Hillary Onek, Karim Ndugwa, Simon Peter Oketch.


Emmanuel Kalyowa (GK), Tom Ikara (GK), Reagan Kalyowa, Martin Aprem, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Benon Tahomera, Frank Kalanda, Jerome Kirya, Anthony Mayanja.


  1. Wow, awesome blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for?
    you made blogging glance easy. The full look of your site is magnificent, as neatly as
    the content! You can see similar here e-commerce

  2. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to
    assist with SEO? I’m trying to get my site to
    rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good success.
    If you know of any please share. Cheers! You can read similar text here:
    List of Backlinks

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *