The Eastern Giants are back in the top four after a 5-2 win over Police.

Ibrahim Nsimbe scored two of our five goals in a simply unstoppable performance at Lugogo. Simon Peter Oketch could not miss the scoring party as well as Martin Aprem and Owen Mukisa. Frank Kalanda’s brace was all the Cops could afford and it was just not enough to rescue them from our hones.

BUL FC starting line up against Police

BUL took a 2-1 lead over Police into half time. The impressive start to the game by the Eastern Giants allowed Simon Peter Oketch to complete a great move with a fine finish to put BUL ahead with just 15 minutes played.

The hosts woke up from their haven and began to threaten BUL’s goal, and six minutes after the half hour mark, Frank Kalanda made the Eastern Giants pay for a Walter Ochora handball in the area when he equalised for his side from the spot.

But their renewed hope was dashed two minutes to the break as Ibrahim Nsimbe restored our lead on 43 minutes.

Hillary Onek in action

After the interval, Police hardly found away through nor could they keep their door shut.

Nsimbe completed his brace on the 79th minute and Aprem made it 4-1 with ten minutes left on the clock.

Police eventually grabbed their second goal with Kalanda again on the score sheet for them on the 85th minute but it was just a consolation.

Owen Mukisa closed the flood gates in the additional minutes after the regular time to make it 5-2 to cap off a brilliant all round performance from the Eastern Giants.

The victory was massive in terms of margin and significance. Alex Isabirye’s side moved back to the fourth place on the table with 49 points, same as Arua Hill but with a superior goal difference, with one game left to end the season.

BUL FC players celebrating Owen Mukisa goal

The second leg of our Uganda cup semi final match with Booma FC comes up next week before our final Uganda premier league match with SC Villa follows up later on May 21 at Kyabazinga stadium.

Starting XI:

Emmanuel Kalyowa, Walter Ochora, Douglas Muganga, Aggrey Madoi (
Reagan Kalyowa 46′), Pascal Ngobi, Jerome Kirya (Allan Kiggundu 84′), Simon Peter Oketch(Ibrahim Kazindula 84′)Martin Aprem (Ibrahim Mugulusi 84′),Hillary Onek, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Richard Wandyaka(Owen Mukisa 66′)

Unused substitutes:

John Okurut, Ivan Wani.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *